Troubleshooting: Login link has expired

Overview

You may land on the following page after interacting with Hoxhunt training:

Screenshot_2022-05-20_at_10.08.11.png

You can see this landing page in a few different situations, such as:

1. when you click a link in a simulated phishing message from Hoxhunt

2. when you try to access security awareness training via a notification from Hoxhunt

 

1. When you click a link in a simulated phishing message from Hoxhunt

What is supposed to happen?

Hoxhunt phishing simulations can include different fail mechanisms in which you can "fall for" the phishing test. These methods include, but are not limited to:

1. Fail links located in the email, Teams message or SMS message

2. Fake attachments (a link hidden in an image which looks like an attachment)

3. Real attachments (a link hidden in the attachment)

When you interact with these elements, you fail the phishing test. During technical testing you will be asked to do so intentionally, so we can test that nothing is blocking or detonating the fail links unexpectedly. Hoxhunt uses various lookalike domains and URLs for training purposes to offer variety and challenge during phishing training. These links utilize the types of domains used in real phishing attacks, so they will might be blocked by different automated security tools built to detect suspicious links.

When everything is working as it should, the employee will get the "Oops!" landing page as shown below:

Screenshot_2022-05-20_at_11.56.53.png

"Login link has expired" message

Each link can be interacted with or clicked on only once - after this the link will be invalidated. If you attempt to access the same link a second time, you will be taken to Login link has expired page.

Sometimes you did in fact not interact with or click on the link before. In these cases, the most likely cause is that you organization has a security solution in place (such as a proxy, a web filter or a link scanner) that automatically inspects the links in incoming messages. This technical inspection will then be considered as a link visit. 

This can cause the user to automatically fail the phishing training even though they did not in fact interact with the email. We call these auto-fails.

If the link in training package announcement or reminder message gets scanned, user will not be able to use the link to access the training package via that link.

To solve these unexpected link inspections, your IT department admin should:

  • determine what technical solution inspected the link within the email, and
  • check what type of allowlisting their security solution supports. Most commonly, they allow either IP or domain allowlisting. Please reach out to your Onboarding Manager or Hoxhunt Support at support@hoxhunt.com if you need the list of domains to allowlist.
  • refer to Investigating unexpected link inspections article.

Your admins can read more here: Allow/whitelisting proxies, VPNs, firewalls and link scanners overview

 

2. When you try to access security awareness training via a notification from Hoxhunt

If your organization uses Hoxhunt to provide Security Awareness Training (training packages) to you, Hoxhunt will notify you whenever you have a new training package assigned or you haven't yet completed a specific training package. 

Links in the announcements can only be used once, so if you attempt to click it again you will land on the page that says the Login link has expired.

If this happens, please log in to Hoxhunt directly via https://game.hoxhunt.com/ and navigate to More training to complete any remaining training packages.

 

 

Questions or further issues?

If you need any additional help, please don't hesitate to reach out to Hoxhunt Support at support@hoxhunt.com.

Was this article helpful?

18 out of 20 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request